- "I paint. Life circulates everywhere and the cells are agitated. The body is tense, it seems to suffer, it is constrained. The mind dictates actions that he instinctively repeats. Then, the mind gradually delegates its power to the body, which only has to believe in its ability to express itself. If the mind has dark ideas, the body submits and lives without smiling. Then, the gesture is released and the body is raised. A short moment of victory, a short breath. The body leaves the laws of the mind and finally expresses itself.

I don't paint what I see or understand. I don't paint people or landscapes. I release lights, movements, sensations, emotions and encounters. I sculpt time. I distil reality."






          Nicolas Bijakowski was born in 1997, grew up and lives in Paris. His interest in plastic practice quickly took hold and grew with the rhythm of his encounters and travels.

Her work is nourished by the curious ambivalence of the relationship between humans and their world, which is both essential and deeply detached. Having grown up between the urban effervescence of Paris and the open countryside of Creus, he now uses as an object of study these feelings that the world has with itself, between the joy of existing and the fear of disappearing. Thus, a certain violence sometimes inhabits his work: visual explosions and aggressive images of the world seen through the filter of the media.


Born of post-war Polish immigration, Nicolas has always been in search of answers to the complexity of family relationships, the divisions and gatherings they bring to life and that we see in his drawings.

He continues his quest for an ideal landscape, a place where the origin and essence of our lives would reside. A place that he imagines himself peaceful, resourcing, and that he expresses through the black, which like him, knows no end.


                                                                             


                                                                            - "Art can be monologue or dialogue when words are missing."

 

signature%20bijakowski_edited.png

- "I paint. Life circulates everywhere and the cells are agitated. The body is tense, it seems to suffer, it is constrained. The spirit dictates to it actions which it repeats instinctively. Then, the spirit delegates little by little. little power to the body which only has to believe in its capacity for expression. If the mind has dark thoughts, the body submits and lives without smiling. Then, the gesture is released and the body gets up again A short moment of victory, a short breath The body leaves the laws of the mind and finally expresses itself.

I don't paint what I see or what I understand. I don't paint people or landscapes. I release lights, movements, sensations, emotions and encounters. I sculpt time. I distill reality. "

- "Je peins. La vie circule partout et les cellules s'agitent. Le corps est crispé, il semble subir, il est contraint. L'esprit lui dicte des gestes qu'il répète instinctivement. Alors, l'esprit délègue petit à petit son pouvoir au corps qui n'a plus qu'à croire en sa capacité d'expression. Si l'esprit a des idées noires, le corps se soumet et vit sans sourire. Puis, le geste se libère et le corps se relève. Un court instant de victoire, une brève respiration. Le corps quitte les lois de l'esprit et s'exprime enfin.

Je ne peins pas ce que je vois ni ce que je comprends. Je ne peins pas les gens ou encore les paysages. Je libère les lumières, les mouvements, les sensations, les émotions et les rencontres. Je sculpte du temps. Je distille la réalité."

 

 

 

          Nicolas Bijakowski est né en 1997, il a grandi et il vit à Paris. Son intérêt pour la pratique plastique s'est rapidement installé et enrichi au rythme de ses rencontres et voyages.

Son travail se nourrit de la curieuse ambivalence de la relation entre les humains et leur monde, à la fois essentielle et profondément détachée. Ayant grandi entre l'effervescence urbaine parisienne et la pleine nature creusoise, il utilise aujourd'hui comme objet d'étude ces sentiments que le monde entretient avec lui-même, entre joie d'exister et peur de disparaître. Ainsi, une certaine violence habite parfois son travail : explosions visuelles et images agressives du monde vu à travers le filtre des médias.

 

Issu d'une immigration polonaise d'après guerre, Nicolas a toujours été en recherche de réponses quant à la complexité des relations familiales, des déchirements et rassemblements qu'elles font vivre et que l'on voit éclore dans ses dessins.

Il poursuit sa quête d'un paysage idéal, d'un l'endroit où résiderait l'origine et l'essence de nos existences. Un lieu qu'il s'imagine paisible, ressourçant, et qu'il exprime par le noir, qui comme lui, ne connaît pas de fin.

 

                                                                             

 

                                                                            - "L'art peut se faire monologue ou dialogue quand les mots manquent."

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

© Adagp, Paris, 2020